PDA

View Full Version : Introducing 12 year old son to Road Racing

Alan Greenwell
12-17-2017, 08:37 PM
Good Evening,
My 12 year old son is interested in road racing, and honestly I have no clue where to even start.
He has raced MX/ cross country for the past 7 years, so we are familiar with motor sports.

We have a KLX110/ KX85/ KTM65 to use as a base for a bike build.

Is there any where around North Texas that we can watch some races in the near future?
What changes are required to the machine?
Tire/ Wheel Supplier?
Gear Supplier?
Is there anywhere we can get him on track?

Any information is Greatly Appreciated.

Thanks

Brad Boyle
12-17-2017, 09:45 PM
Love seeing the young guy is interested in road racing. Welcome to the forum. I’m not an expert on the jr racers but there’s allot of them on here. The closest track to you is MSR (motorsports ranch) in cresson, tx. Should be less than on hour from you. First race there is in April. But I know they have track days for motorcycles. When ?you would have to look it up. It wouldn’t be racing but you could get an idea. They also have a orginization called RideSmart (some racers aren’ big fans) but that’s a good way to get started you supply the bike and helmet and gloves and they have leathers and boots they’ll lend you (if they have his size) so that’s a cost savings to give it a try. I know they let minors but how young I don’t know. Very controlled setting with instruction and classes. Most instructors are racers or former racers. Also the bike doesn’t have to be race ready just a set of good street tires on any of the bikes you named. A tire manufacturer is at most events for them. But find out if they have that size b4 you show up. The CMRA has a class you must take before you race but it’s nothing dramatic and you can race the same weekend. We also have a Friday practice before the race weekend. So come out and have some fun. I’m sure some others will join in with some great advice.

Carter Rossner